Lee 'Scratch' Perry ADD

My Name Is Pipecock Jackxon - Jam Ra Records Announces Posthumous Lee Scratch Perry Album

09/08/2021 by Reggaeville

My Name Is Pipecock Jackxon - Jam Ra Records Announces Posthumous Lee Scratch Perry Album

10 days ago (August 29, 2021) Lee Scratch Perry, arguably the most influential Jamaican producer and artist, has left us. In mid August Raffaele from Jam Ra Records reached out to Reggaeville about an upcoming album by Lee Scratch Perry. Since then the music world has lost one of its greatest geniuses, but the music lives on and as originally planned the new album My Name Is Pipecock Jackxon will be released on September 27th. 

Raffaele Ferro aka Rankin Alpha, founder and director of Jam Ra Records:
"Childishly, perhaps stupidly, I never thought that Lee would leave us, and that vice versa he would remain, with his physical body, always with us.
This is precisely an understandable, childish, and perhaps selfish desire. But Lee exists beyond the body, as he has always demonstrated, crossing our hearts, our mood and our soul, with great art and deeply unique mastery, pure and true.

The biggest hug goes to Mireille Perry who has always supervised together with her love Lee, all the projects I conceived and created for Jam Ra.
May God still give us time to live and remember by living, Lee Scratch Perry and his magical essence, in Jesus Christ, Jesse the Hammer of Justice, as he himself calls it, Amen.

Postil: "The world is going to an end, and I'm not scared". Lee still gives us a joy, an awareness and maybe even a magic trick, or a spell, or a blessing, to help, accompany and mitigate what seems to be still the general concern. That of a End, to be replaced with a perpetual New Beginning. The Rainbow.

A new work and a new figure - but at the same time very ancient - that manifests itself. Pipecock Jackxon! Certainly.

Inspired by the famous album The Return of Pipecock Jackxon (1980) in which, after destroying his musical sanctuary (legendary Black Ark Studio)
Lee Perry manifested himself with one of his most important pseudonyms. A real moment of Catharsis and new Creation.
Here it is. Now, thanks to Raffaele Ferro - producer, alongside Dubital, of the Science, Magic, Logic album (2017) friend and collaborator of Mireille and Lee Perry for years - comes a new musical adventure.

Three covers from the aforementioned famous album and other brand new tracks. It took five years for this work to be released, but we believe it was worth it and the joyful effort.

1. Untitled Roots
2. Babylon Cookie Jar a Crumble (Revisited)
3. No Cigarette Reggae
4. Give Thanks to Jah (Revisited)
5. Riddim Mash Down Ism and Skism
6. Black Moses ina Red Trousers
7. Who Killed the Chicken (Revisited)
8. Babylon Cookie Jar a Crumble (Revisited) [DUB]
9. Give Thanks to Jah (Revisited) [DUB]
10. Who Killed the Chicken (Revisited) [DUB]

Entirely arranged, produced, recorded and mixed by Raffaele Ferro aka Rankin Alpha, under the supervision of Mireille Perry, Lee Perry and Dubital.
Vocals recorded at Lee Perry's secret Swiss laboratory by Noel Campbell and in New York by John Palmer.
Mastered at SV Studio (Serravalle / Pistoia / Italy) by Gabriele Gai.

All instruments and mixing by Rankin Alpha (aka Raffaele Ferro) and the Clumsy Ghosts - featuring musicians from The Dub Lab crew.