Ras Michael ADD

New Ras Michael Album - Live By The Spirit

01/30/2020 by Press Release

New Ras Michael Album - Live By The Spirit

A father of Nyabinghi drumming and a key figure in the rise of reggae music, Jamaican native Ras Michael returns with his 27th album, Live By The Spirit. The album will be released January 31, 2020.

Nyabinghi is the rhythmic precursor to reggae, ska, and rocksteady. In Jamaica it emerged within early ceremonial Rastafarian gatherings. Re­peating bass drum in tandem with elastic hand drum patterns and hymns brought people together in congregation, release and worship of Jah. As Rastafari spread so did Nyabinghi. In the 50's Count Ossie made the first Nyabinghi recordings. Soon alter Ras Michael and his band the Sons of Negus infused the percussive form with jazz and blues sensibilities, propelling the rise of reggae and its relative genres.

Ras Michael would go on to become the first member of the Rastafari movement to host a reggae radio program in Jamaica. Collaborations with Bob Marley, Peter Tosh, Burning Spear, and more soon followed.

With hand beaten rhythms again providing foundation, Live By The Spirit reinvigorates the Nyabinghi spirit. Ras Michael is joined by Santa Davis (drummer for Peter Tosh, Ziggy Marley), Black Panther soundtrack drummers Magatte Fall and Malick Sow, Alphonso Kirk (alto sax), Junior Mllton Smith (bass guitar), Stevie Verhault (guitar) and more for a hypnotic nine track journey.

"This release is an 'ital jacuzzi' for the soul and spirit. Foundation heartbeat. Masterpiece." - Big Jim Snidow

1. Nicodemus
2. History of the Drum Music
3. Press/Along Saints/Babylon Burning
4. Be As One
5. Thou Art Worthy to Be Praised
6. Nyabinghi Instrumental
7. By the Rivers of Babylon
8. Take Me Back To Africa
9. Live By The Spirit 

Produced by Ras Michael and Harlan Steinberger
Additional production: Carlton Santa Davis and Steve “Stevie” Verhault
Engineered and mixed by Harlan Steinberger
Mastered by Bernie Grundman
Art design by Nikita Sorokin