Mad Professor ADD

Jack Johnson Announces Dub Remix Album with Lee 'Scratch' Perry, Mad Professor & Scientist

02/26/2023 by Press Release

Jack Johnson Announces Dub Remix Album with Lee 'Scratch' Perry, Mad Professor & Scientist

Multi-platinum musician Jack Johnson announces new album, In Between Dub, featuring a remix collection of some of Johnson’s most beloved recordings from his over two decade long career, but with a dub twist. In Between Dub will be available on all streaming platforms and select retailers on June 2, 2023 through Brushfire and Republic Records. Lead track, Traffic In The Sky, one of two new Lee “Scratch” Perry dub remixes, is out now. 

In Between Dub, a three-year creation, began after Jack reached out to famed reggae pioneer Lee “Scratch” Perry in early 2020 to produce a dub remix album. After a year-long pandemic pause, Lee “Scratch” Perry began working on several tracks, crafting original music and mixes from his studio in Jamaica. Lee “Scratch” Perry sent the sketches over to Jack in Hawaii and together they connected to collaborate on a direction. “Growing up in Hawaii with reggae music always on the radio, Lee “Scratch” Perry was a living Legend," offered Jack

"When I found out he was up for remixing a few of my songs I was blown away. The remixes evolved and he ended up adding his voice to my songs. It was like he had done a magic trick to the music. I will be forever grateful for the time, love, and energy that Lee “Scratch” Perry put into this project.

On August 29, 2021, the project was suddenly brought to another halt as Lee “Scratch” Perry departed this physical world. In 2022 Jack and Subatomic Sound System, Lee “Scratch” Perry’s band of the last decade, connected directly and discovered they had all the pieces to bring Lee “Scratch” Perry’s creation to completion.

In Between Dub features two new Lee “Scratch” Perry dubs, plus a Subatomic Sound System dub with vocals from Lee “Scratch” Perry, along with dub remixes by Scientist, Dennis Bovell, Nightmares On Wax, Mad Professor, Yaadcore and Monk. The full track listing is below.

01. Traffic In The Sky (Lee “Scratch” Perry)
02. Wasting Time (Subatomic Sound System)
03. No Other Way (Dennis Bovell)
04. Times Like These (Lee “Scratch” Perry)
05. Calm Down (Dennis Bovell)
06. Better Together (Nightmares On Wax)
07. One Step Ahead (Scientist)
08. Breakdown (Nightmares On Wax)
09. Turn Your Love (Mad Professor)
10. You Can’t Control It (Yaadcore)
11. It’s All Underground (Monk)

Pre-Order the Vinyl or Pre-Save on Apple & Spotify HERE

LISTEN TO Traffic In The Sky with Lee “Scratch” Perry here: