Linton Kwesi Johnson ADD

  • Linton Kwesi Johnson - Bass Culture / LKJ in Dub
  • Linton Kwesi Johnson - Bass Culture / LKJ in Dub

40th anniversary 2-LP edition of 'dub poet' Linton Kwesi Johnson's classic 1980 album, released on Island Records, with additional LP - 'LKJ in Dub', featuring dub versions of tracks from Bass Culture and previous studio LP 'Forces Of Victory'. Produced by Linton Kwesi Johnson and the legendary Dennis Bovell ('Blackbeard'), the album is a fierce, politically-charged view of Britain at the time. The music however is both highly accessible and experimental, going beyond traditional reggae arrangements to include free jazz and avant-garde elements. Remastered at Abbey Road, released on heavyweight coloured vinyl: GREEN for Bass Culture / RED for LKJ In Dub. Features expanded artwork in a bespoke gatefold sleeve. Both albums out of print on vinyl for years.

Linton Kwesi Johnson - Bass Culture / LKJ in Dub

VINYL / 2LP [UMC, Island Records]

Release date: 08/29/2020


Side A: 'Bass Culture'
01. Bass Culture
02. Street 66
03. Reggae Fi Peach
04. Di Black Petty Booshwah

Side B: 'Bass Culture'
01. Inglan Is a Bitch
02. Loraine
03. Reggae Sounds
04. Two Sides of Silence

Side C: ‘LKJ In Dub’
01. Victorious Dub
02. Reality Dub
03. Peach Dub
04. Shocking Dub

Side D: ‘LKJ In Dub’
01. Iron Bar Dub
02. Bitch Dub
03. Cultural Dub
04. Brain Smashing Dub

2 LP Edition (Green / Red Vinyl)
Record Store Day Release