Jah9 ADD

New Release: Jah9 - 9mm Vol. 2 (Pre-Album Groundings)


New Release: Jah9 - 9mm Vol. 2 (Pre-Album Groundings)


The 'Jazz on Dub' singer-songwriter and producer Jah9 started her 'Year of 9' World Tour, spanning North America, Europe and Africa in support of her sophomore album '9' (out 9/9 on VP Records). Her North American portion started July 23rd at the Northwest World Reggae Fest in Portland - followed with shows in Seattle, Vancouver, Philadelphia, New York City, Rochester, Ithaca, Toronto and Denver before concluding on Aug 5th at Cali's renowned Reggae On The River festival in Humbolt County. Europe and Africa dates follow.

To properly kick off the tour, Jah9 releases (FREE DOWNLOAD) her brand new 9mm Vol. 2: Pre-Album Groundings, a thought-provoking and intentional mix of originality and inspiration to gear up for her highly-anticipated studio album.

With Jah9's lioness lyrical dexterity and soulful rich production, her authentic spirit shines throughout her latest offering. Vol 2. features original, never-before-heard music including Unafraid (a standout track from her upcoming album addressing child molestation) and pays homage to some of Jah9's greatest influencers, both spirtually and musically. She incorporates empowering speeches from Haile Selassie I (Nefer Amen Ra UnDrunvalo Melchezidek) encouraging her listeners not only to journey into higher levels of consciousness, but seek out information and knowledge. She also celebrates some of her most beloved musical inspirations with one-of-a-kind covers of Nina Simone's Misunderstood, Tracy Chapman's She's Got A Ticket, Ras Michael's New Name, Dennis Brown's Blood City and an invigorationg medley of Sizzla Kalonji.

The 18-track selection features original production from Jah9 and live instrumentation from her band The Dub Treatment including Sheldon Bernard, Janoy Ellis, Omar "Jalanzo" Johnson, Aeion Hoillet, Andrew "Chako" Edwards & Fanso Craig. The collection is mixed & dubbed by Hasani 'Snysh' Williams. This part two installment follows Jah9's 2012 9mm Vol 1: Message Music, a precursor to her debut New Name.

Vol. 2 is an introduction of what's to come on 9 | 9 | 2 + 0 + 1 + 6 = 9. Her entirely self-produced sophomore album 9 is a combination of intellectual rigor, real world activism and lyrical musicality.


01. Fire Slaughter
02. Avocado *9 Grams Per Serving
03. Marijuana (prod. by Biggy Music)
04. This is NOT a mixtape “K'nife"
05. Listen*
06. Drunvalo Melchezidek
07. Humble Mi#
08. She's got a ticket (Tracy Chapman cover)
09. Feeling Irie (prod by VP Records)
10. Feme9 “K'nife"
11. Unafraid (prod by Shamala Prod)
12. Misunderstood (Nina Simone Cover)*
13. Sizzla Kalonji Medley*
14. Bloody City (prod by VP Records)
15. Ra Un Nefer Amen
16. H.I.M Haile Selassie I
17. New Name (Ras Michael Cover)*
18. Outro - 9 "K'nife"

* prod. by Steam Chalice Records | # prod. by Lost Ark Music / Steam Chalice Records