Dub Syndicate ADD

On-U Sound Reissues Early Dub Syndicate Catalogue


On-U Sound Reissues Early Dub Syndicate Catalogue

On-U Sound announces extensive reissue campaign for the early Dub Syndicate catalogue

Essential early-80s dub damage! Last year, On-U Sound lavished some love and attention on the early catalogue of one of On-U Sound's flagship artists, African Head Charge, re-pressing their much sought after first four albums and following up with an LP of unreleased versions from the period, Return Of The Crocodile, and the CD anthology boxset, Environmental Holes & Drastic Tracks. It’s now time to shine a light on the crucial early sides of another one of On-U’s big hitters, the mighty Dub Syndicate.

Dub Syndicate was initially one of the many studio-based projects masterminded by Adrian Sherwood in the early days of his maverick independent label, built around deep and heavy reggae rhythms, and marshalling the talents of a revolving cast of Jamaican and British musicians. It evolved over time to become the main musical vehicle of Lincoln Valentine Scott aka Style Scott (former drummer with the Roots Radics and Creation Rebel), usually involving Style laying down backing tracks in Kingston, and then Adrian applying his mixing board magic when the tapes arrived in London.

In the same fashion as the AHC campaign, the first four Dub Syndicate studio albums are being re-pressed on vinyl in high quality new editions with printed inners, download cards and bonus tracks where available. This includes the rare second album, One Way System, originally a cassette-only edition on the seminal ROIR label from NYC, and reissued now as a double gatefold version with new artwork, re-cut at 45rpm for maximum frequency impact. Also included in this batch is the collaborative North Of The River Thames set with ace melodica player Doctor Pablo. To top it all there is a new album - Displaced Masters, nine stripped-back takes of early On-U dub magic. Once again everything is anthologised on CD in the 5-disc Ambience In Dub 1982 - 1985 boxset, complete with 24 page booklet.

In addition to many much-loved studio albums such as Stoned Immaculate, Dub Syndicate also became a barnstorming live act and a staple of the festival circuit. Tragically, on 9 October 2014 Style Scott was senselessly murdered in his home in Jamaica. An irreplaceable and unique musical talent is gone, but his music will live on forever.

On-U Sound Records is an English record label best known for releasing its own unique flavour of dub music since the 1981. The label is owned by producer Adrian Sherwood and home to acts such as Tackhead, Dub Syndicate, African Head Charge, The London Underground, Little Annie, Creation Rebel, Mark Stewart, Gary Clail, New Age Steppers and Singers & Players. Producer Adrian Sherwood generates the On-U signature sound.

The reissue campaign encompasses the following Dub Syndicate releases:

The Pounding System LP
One Way System 2LP
North Of The River Thames LP (with Doctor Pablo)
Tunes From The Missing Channel LP
Displaced Masters LP (Unreleased versions from the vaults)
Ambience In Dub 1982 – 1985 5CD + 24-page book

The six albums will all be released on the 10th November.

LP with printed inner, includes DL card for full album. DL card includes bonus track not included on the vinyl
Side One
01. Pounding Systems
02. Hi-Fi Gets A Pounding (Pts. 1 & 2)
03. “African Head Charge” Don’t Care About Space Invader Machines (Pts. 1 & 2)
04. Fringe On Top Dub
Side Two
05. Humourless Journalist Works To Rules
06. 10k at 0VU - 60 Hz - Mind Boggles!
07. Crucial Tony Tries To Resuce The Space Invaders (With Only 10p)
08. Hi-Fi Gets A Pounding Pt.3
09. Return To Stage One Bonus Track With Download Card
10. Gather At The River

Gatefold Double Vinyl LP with download card  
Side One
01. Socca
02. Overloader
03. Drilling Equipment
Side Two
04. Drainpipe Rats
05. Schemers 06. Ascendent Pt.4
Side Three
07. Synchroniser
08. Independence
09. Substyle
Side Four
10. Displaced Master
11. Ascendent Pt. 6
12. Blood Shed Dub (bonus track)

LP with printed inner, includes DL card for full album. DL card includes two bonus tracks not included on the vinyl   
Side One
01. Man Of Mystery
02. Dr Who?
03. Pressurized
04. Tribute
Side Two
05. A Taste Of Honey
06. North Of The River Thames
07. Red Sea
08. We Like It Hot
Bonus Tracks with Download Card
09. Can’t Stop Jumping
10. Pablo’s African Blood

LP with printed inner, includes DL card for full album
Side One
01. Ravi Shankar Pt.1
02. The Show Is Coming
03. Must Be Dreaming
04. Over Board
05. Forever More
Side Two
06. Geoffrey Boycott
07. Wellie
08. Jolly
09. Out And About

LP with printed inner, includes DL card for full album
Side One
01. Boggled Minds
02. Honey Version
03. Money Dealers (with Bim Sherman)
04. No Flash
Side Two
05. Subway Style
06. Haunted Ground (with Bim Sherman)
07. All Other Roads Are Shut Off
08. Keep You Rocking (with Bim Sherman)
09. Red Sea Dub

5 CDs in card wallets housed in a rigid slipcase with 24 page booklet
Tracklists: See tracks above!