Dre Island ADD

New Album... Future Sound of Reggae - Volume 3

02/22/2024 by Press Release

New Album... Future Sound of Reggae - Volume 3

Music Executive Steve Wilson’s Brand New Machine in partnership with leading independent distributor/label, New York based DubShot Records, have compiled a 3rd volume to their alternative reggae compilation Future Sound of Reggae (FSOR). Now in its second decade, the series has proven to be more relevant than ever in exposing future talent and providing a platform to share the diversity within reggae music. With artists like Rebelution, Yaksta, Million Stylez, Rootz Underground, Naomi Cowan, and more contributing to it’s legacy, Volume 3 is sure to produce new stars in the genre. Future Sound of Reggae (FSOR) takes the next step into the reggae cosmos with out of this world combinations from yard and abroad on the latest release, which is scheduled for a March 15th, 2024, release date. 

The evolution of the FSOR brand since its launch over 10 years ago is taking another turn, switching back to a various artist compilation as opposed to the steady stream of singles they have been releasing over the past several years. The latest compilation, focused on collaborations, features an impressive list of talent, male and female, multi-generational, and spanning the range of reggae genres from roots to dancehall and beyond.

The 11-track LP passes the torch from righteous rebellion and ganja to love and romance, and features artists well known in both the international community and it’s native Jamaica, the birthplace of the musical stylings known throughout the world and beyond. 

The fire starts to burn in the middle of reggae month with the release (February 23rd) of the first single from reggae legend Mykal Rose and Kingston’s own Skygrass. A torch passing remix of the hit song Sensimilla, made famous by the song and album released in 1980 but Grammy winning Rose’s former band Black Uhuru.

The second single Paradise, from young AnnaleaX, a multi-talented artist who has been making waves in the Kingston music scene with film appearances and performances at Janga’s in uptown Kingston. The new single recorded for the compilation pairs her with Toronto via Kingston production duo Gold Up. Stay tuned for announcements regarding the single release. 

01. The Movement & SOJA - Diamond
02. Vana Liya & Asadenaki - Honey
03. Dre Island & The Lickshots - Never Run Dry
04. Annaleax & Gold Up - Paradise
05. Skygrass & Mykal Rose - Sensimilla (Remix)
06. Jesse Royal, Ras-I & Koastal Kings - Sky Way
07. Transdub Massiv & Tanya Stephens - System Is Burning
08. Ras Ajai & Nikki Burt - Who Got The Herbs
09. Green Lion Crew & Medisun - African Bushman
10. Subatomic Sound System & Screechy Dan - Champion Sound
11. Irie Souljah & Sundub - Unstoppable