Desmond Dekker ADD

Trojan Records Release Lost Desmond Dekker Album Pretty Africa

03/13/2019 by Press Release

Trojan Records Release Lost Desmond Dekker Album Pretty Africa

Trojan Records unveil previously unheard recordings of Desmond Dekker & The Aces.  The album Pretty Africa will be reissued on April 13th in limited numbers as a Record Store Day 2019 release, with the set pressed on high quality, coloured vinyl and presented in a stylishly designed sleeve, containing a lyrics sheet insert.

In the summer of 1973, London-based reggae producers, Bruce White and Tony Cousins oversaw recording sessions at Chalk Farm Studio at which Desmond Dekker and his long-standing vocal group, The Aces, voiced a dozen Jamaican-produced backing tracks with the intention of releasing the finished masters on a new album. Yet, for reasons lost in the mists of time, the LP never saw issue, but rather languished in the Trojan vaults for over four decades before finally being discovered last year.

The announcement of this long lost set is sure to spark joy amongst Dekker’s legions of fans old and new. It also kick starts a busy year of celebrations, as 2019 sees one of Desmond Dekker’s best-loved tracks – Israelites celebrate a special anniversary next month. April 22nd marks fifty years since the genre defining classic hit the No.1 spot on the official chart in the UK. This is the first ever Jamaican produced song to top the chart, and set precedent and momentum for the genre moving forward.

This summer also marks 50 years since the original skinhead era of the late ‘60’s emerged in London. Borne of Britain’s working-class estates, the no-nonsense sub-culture that widely recognised in early boss reggae the sound that matched their outlook, changed styles and attitudes forever. Fashion and music would never be the same and Trojan Records was at the very epicentre of this cultural, political and social earthquake. 

2019 is shaping to be yet another busy year for Trojan Records. 2018 marked five decades since the iconic reggae label changed the British musical and cultural landscape, bringing a new sound and ethos to the world. The year-long celebration of their unparalleled history saw  a series of exciting music releases, a documentary film, live events and a definitive coffee table book about this richest of histories.

Side A:
1 Pretty Africa - Desmond Dekker & The Aces 
2 Treat Me Cruel - Desmond Dekker & The Aces 
3 Love Is the Key - The Aces 
4 The Sweet Sound of Music - Desmond Dekker 
5 Behold - The Aces 6 Please Don't Bend - Desmond Dekker 

Side B:
1 Sweet Music - Desmond Dekker & The Aces 
2 Was a Sunny Day - The Aces 
3 We Got to Be Free - Desmond Dekker & The Aces 
4 Walk Don't Run - The Aces 
5 Trample - Desmond Dekker & The Aces 
6 Jah Jah Children - Al Barry 

Listen to the title track Pretty Africa here: