Damian 'Jr. Gong' Marley ADD

MOBO Awards 2017 - Best Reggae Act Nominees Announced


MOBO Awards 2017 - Best Reggae Act Nominees Announced

The 2017 MOBO Awards nominations have been announced. Here are the five names in the BEST REGGAE ACT category:

Aidonia, Alkaline, Chronixx, Damian Marley and Popcaan

It's the six subsequent nomination for Popcaan since 2012. He won the award two times. Chronixx & Alkaline scored their third nomination while Aidonia is nominated for the first time. 

Damian Marley, MOBO Award Winner 2005 (see photos below), is on the nomination list for the sixth time. 

Sean Paul who is leading the winners list with six awards is not nominated. His last MOBO Awards win and nomination was back in 2012.

This year the Best Reggae Act category and also many others are not a public voting. In 2016 it was a public voting (weighted 50%) combined with the MOBO Awards voting academy‚Äôs results. 

The 22nd MOBO Awards are taking place on Wednesday, November 29th at the First Direct Arena in Leeds.

The MOBO Awards stands for "Music of Black Origin" and was established in 1996.


Winner 2016: Popcaan
Nominees: Alkaline, Kranium, Protoje, Spice

Winner 2015: Popcaan
Nominees: Protoje, OMI, Chronixx, Stylo G

Winner 2014: Stylo G
Nominees: Alkaline, Chronixx, Popcaan, Tarrus Riley

Winner 2013: Sean Paul
Nominees: Mavado, Popcaan, Stylo G, Tarrus Riley

Winner 2012: Sean Paul
Nominees: Popcaan, Konshens, Damian Marley, Mr. Vegas

Winner 2011: Alborosie
Nominees: Mavado, Damian Marley & Nas, Jah Cure, Khago

Winner 2010: Gyptian
Nominees: Damian Marley, Mavado, Vybz Kartel, Gappy Ranks

Winner 2009: Sean Paul
Nominees: Mavado, Serani Tarrus Riley Vybz Kartel

Winner 2008: Mavado
Nominees: Beenie Man, Busy Signal, Etana, Tarrus Riley

Winner 2007: Sean Kingston
Nominees: Collie Buddz, Shaggy, Stephen Marley, Tony Matterhorn

Winner 2006: Sean Paul
Nominees: Burning Spear, Damian Marley, Sean Paul, Shaggy, Anthony Hamilton

Winner 2005: Damian Marley
Nominees: I-Wayne, Richie Spice, Sean Paul, Daddy Yankee

Winner 2004: Sean Paul
Nominees: Vybz Kartel, Elephant Man, Toots & The Maytals

Winner 2003: Wayne Wonder
Nominees: Sean Paul, Elephant Man, Beenie Man, Bounty Killer

Winner 2002: Sean Paul
Winner 2001: Shaggy
Winner 2000: Beenie Man
Winner 1999: Mr.Vegas
Winner 1998: Glamma Kid + Beenie Man (Best International Reggae Act)
Winner 1997: Finley Quaye + Beenie Man (Best International Reggae Act)
Winner 1996: Peter Hunningale

Embed from Getty Images