Bob Marley & The Wailers ADD

Marley Family Announces 40th Anniversary Reissue for Bob Marley & The Wailers - Exodus Album


Marley Family Announces 40th Anniversary Reissue for Bob Marley & The Wailers - Exodus Album

LOS ANGELES, April 20, 2017: Bob Marley & The Wailers' classic Exodus album, the ninth studio album of the band, was released on June 3, 1977, featuring a new backing band including brothers Carlton and Aston "Family Man" Barrett on drums and bass, Tyrone Downie on keyboards, Alvin "Seeco" Patterson on percussion, and the I-Threes, Judy Mowatt, Marcia Griffiths and Rita Marley on backing vocals, and newest member Julian "Junior" Marvin on guitar. The album was released on June 3, 1977, just six months after an assassination attempt was made on Bob Marley's life in Jamaica in December, forcing him to flee to London, where Exodus was recorded.

This June, The Marley Family, Island Records and UMe will mark the 40th anniversary of Exodus – named the "Best Album of the 20th Century" by Time Magazine in 1999 – with a series of four separate reissues, three of which will feature Exodus 40 - The Movement Continues, son Ziggy Marley's newly curated "restatement" of the original album. 

As part of the celebration, Ziggy Marley has intimately revisited the original session recordings, uncovering unused and never-before-heard vocals, lyric phrasing and instrumentation, incorporating and transforming these various elements into brand-new session takes. 

On June 2, UMe will release a version of Exodus 40 - The Movement Continues in a two-CD package that includes the original album and the Ziggy Marley "restatement"; a three-CD set (and digital equivalent) that includes the original Exodus, Exodus 40 - The Movement Continues and Exodus Live. A limited edition gold vinyl version of the original 1977 album will also be available.

A Super Deluxe, four-LP, two-7" single vinyl version includes the original LP, Ziggy Marley's restatement Exodus 40 – The Movement Continues, an Exodus Live set recorded at London's Rainbow Theatre the week of the album's release, Punky Reggae Party LP which includes a previously unreleased extended mix of Keep On Moving, and a pair of vinyl 7" singles, including Waiting in Vain b/w Roots and Smile Jamaica (Part One) b/w Smile Jamaica (Part Two). In celebration of the Exodus 40th Anniversary, fans who pre-order the Exodus 40  - The Movement Continues Super Deluxe edition via or will receive a digital download of the entire package as well as an exclusive Stephen Marley "Juggling" of the song Exodus with a reimagined music bed and different lead vocalists including Beenie Man, Queen Ifrica, Tarrus Riley and more to be announced, on June 2nd in advance of the June 30th physical release date. Following Jamaican music customs of taking a music track (known as the "riddim" or "juggling") and have several artists record original songs with original lyric and melody on that track, Stephen Marley has recorded a "Re Likk" EP of the Exodus Riddim that will be available exclusively in Jamaica and the Caribbean.

Ziggy approached the "restatement" project with the utmost respect for his father's music and the message. Exodus 40  - The Movement Continues is his vision of how his father might have accessed these songs today. Ziggy's respectful, but experimental approach places them in a brand-new context, like listening to this classic album again, for the first time. 

Ziggy uncovered 10 lead vocal outtakes for One Love, proceeding to piece together a dazzling, new lead vocal from the outtakes, which includes vocal booth lyric ad libs near the end of the song. He also assembled a noteworthy roster of musicians to record a new music bed for Turn Your Lights Down Low - which leads the song into deeper elements of R&B. Bob's original vocals sit atop this fresh music bed, creating a new soulful experience with this iconic song. Ziggy and his hand-chosen musicians provide subtle instrumental textures throughout this knowledgeable reimagining from the multiple Grammy winning heir to his father's legacy.

Ziggy Marley will be embarking on a summer tour beginning June 12 in San Diego, CA. In addition to his own lauded catalog, Ziggy will also be incorporating music from Exodus into his set.

The full Exodus 40: The Movement Continues super deluxe box set tracklist is:
LP1: Bob Marley & The Wailers’ Exodus (Original Version)
Side One:
Natural Mystic

So Much Things to Say


The Heathen


Side Two:

Waiting In Vain

Turn Your Lights Down Low

Three Little Birds

One Love/People Get Ready

LP2: Ziggy Marley’s Exodus 40: The Movement Continues
same tracklist as above

LP3: Exodus Live
recorded at Rainbow Theatre, London, 1 to 4 June 1977

Side One:

Natural Mystic*

So Much Things to Say*


The Heathen

Side Two:
Positive Vibration*


*previously unreleased

LP4: Punky Reggae Party / Keep On Moving 12“
Side One:
Punky Reggae Party

Punky Reggae Party Dub

Side Two:

Keep On Moving [previously unreleased extended mix]

Bonus 7”s

Waiting In Vain/Roots

Smile Jamaica (Part One)/Smile Jamaica (Part Two)

Enjoy this brand new, never-before-heard version of "One Love / People Get Ready" taken from Exodus 40: The Movement Continues