Bob Marley & The Wailers ADD

Bob Marley & The Wailers Live in Los Angeles 1973 - Lost Footage Unearthed

09/06/2021 by Press Release

Bob Marley & The Wailers Live in Los Angeles 1973 - Lost Footage Unearthed

A very special record and DVD was released on September 3, 2021, showing a fantastic performance of The Wailers in Los Angeles, CA (USA) 1973. Unique material of Bob Marley, Peter Tosh & Joe Higgs (who replaced Bunny Wailer) alongside Aston & Carlton Barrett and Earl 'Wya' Lindo. Check all details in the following press release:

The scene is Hollywood. October 1973. International reggae pioneers Bob Marley and The Wailers were filmed in a closed door session at The Capitol Records Tower on October 24 by famed producer Denny Cordell, who received the blessing from Marley to capture the band recording 12 songs. Shooting with four cameras and mixing “on the fly” to a colorized tape, this footage, has been painstakingly restored, resulting in an incredible presentation of this unseen live session.
Tuff Gong and Mercury Studios are proud to present this concert (almost 50 years after it was recorded): Bob Marley And The Wailers: The Capitol Session ‘73 on DVD+CD, standalone CD, 2LP pressed on green marble vinyl, 2LP pressed on Rasta swirl vinyl (red, yellow and green – available exclusively at Sound of Vinyl), and digital formats. 

This session at Capitol Studios represented a unique moment in the band’s career. Filmed 10 years after their formation, Bob Marley and the Wailers already had several established hits through the ska and rocksteady eras. Gaining recognition stateside, including a few shows with Bruce Springsteen at Max’s Kansas City in NYC (July 1973), they then went on to tour with Sly and the Family Stone, before they had been unceremoniously dumped from the tour. This led to the band (Bob Marley, Peter Tosh, Joe Higgs, Aston Barrett, Carlton Barrett, Earl “Wya” Lindo) making their way to Hollywood to do this session.
The footage from this session was considered lost until a freelance researcher uncovered a few frames. For over 20 years, archives and storage units from New York and London to San Diego were tracked down and searched to retrieve fragments of the film, until it was fully unearthed, restored, and remastered.
Evolving into a politically and socially charged unit after being inspired by the US Civil Rights movement, various African liberation efforts, and Rastafari, which Bob Marley and the Wailers studied from Rasta elders, their music reflected the soul and struggles of the era. Making poignant statements about life, liberty, and social justice, the sentiments are imbued in the songs, which are beautifully brought to life via Bob Marley and The Wailers: The Capitol Session ‘73.
1.    You Can’t Blame the Youth (Peter Tosh on lead vocals)
2.    Slave Driver
3.    Burnin’ and Lootin’
4.    Rastaman Chant
5.    Duppy Conqueror
6.    Midnight Raver
7.    Put it On
8.    Stop that Train (Peter Tosh on lead vocals)
9.    Kinky Reggae
10.  Stir It Up
11.  No More Trouble
12.  Get Up Stand Up (Marley & Tosh on lead vocals)
DVD Bonus tracks:
Duppy Conqueror (Alternate Version)
Rastaman Chant (Alternate Version)