Marcia Griffiths ADD

In The Viper’s Shadow - New Prince Fatty Album out in October 2019

09/06/2019 by Press Release

In The Viper’s Shadow - New Prince Fatty Album out in October 2019

After dropping The Clone Theory in 2015 production connoisseur Prince Fatty has been paving the way for something very special ever since. 2019 will see him release his second solo album In The Viper’s Shadow landing on the 4th October via Evergreen Recordings. First single Get Ready was released in June, whilst second single Everything Crash is out today. Both singles feature the mighty Big Youth and George Dekker.

Featuring a whole host of reggae and dub royalty, this project boasts a who’s who of global talent including the likes of Cornell Campbell, Tippa Irie, Big Youth, George Dekker, Shniece McMenamin, Earl 16, Winston Francis, Marcia Griffiths and Horseman. Renowned for flexing his studio muscle with some of the freshest and versatile dub sounds around, Prince Fatty’s smooth grooves have turned industry heads for decades and In The Viper’s Shadow is no exception. This album is 10 tracks of reggae goodness, produced to perfection in a melting pot of influences that span from multiple eras and stretch to just about every corner of the planet. On creating the record, Prince Fatty added: “I live in a Rub A Dub world, both a dub plate fantasy and a reality. Having your own un-released productions to play is essential and it became an arms race. The more we played out the more we recorded. The selections drawn for the Viper album are just some of the popular songs me and Horseman dub live. I am very fortunate to have these great singers and musicians involved, all of which have stayed true to their art and message regardless of fashion. They inspire me to do the same. I will always do the opposite to the in-crowd. Machines versus musicians, software versus human feel, digital versus analog. Dread Out.

Blending old-school reggae with his own eccentric, futuristic twist, Prince Fatty hasn’t taken his foot off the gas this year. He produced an exclusive Record Store Day release with Earl 16 and gave The Last Poets’ Understand What Black Is a complete dub overhaul; the latter received praise from Record Collector, Uncut, The Arts Desk, DJ Mag, Long Live Vinyl and many more. Kickstarting the summer, he released the first single from this album ‘Get Ready’ feat. Big Youth & George Dekker. The Smokey Robinson cover received spins from David Rodigan (BBC 1 XTRA), Ed Adoo (BBC Three Counties) and was described as the “gold standard of dub production” from Rootfire. The second single Everything Crash is a cover of The Ethiopians’ 1969 hit. Now 50 years since it’s release, Big Youth & George Dekker have joined forces once again to honour the legacy of the record.

Prince Fatty has worked with everyone from Lily Allen, Hollie Cook, Graham Coxon (Blur), Mungo's HiFi, The Skints, Gregory Isaacs to name a few. After moving from Brighton to live in Sao Paulo, Los Angeles and Thailand, he's taken inspirational sounds from across the globe and has built up a reputation of being one of the go-to producers of recent times. With a knack for selecting the perfect collaborators, whether its an up and coming artist or a genre-defining hero, his ability to showcase foundation laying percussion skills, mesmerising vocalists, bass-heavy triumphs and everything in between has resulted in some of the most expressive sounds around, and In The Viper’s Shadow is the perfect example of his commitment to the cause.

The seasons may have changed in October, but Prince Fatty is keeping the sunshine in your life regardless with this one.

01. Two Timer feat. Cornell Campbell & Tippa Irie
02. Get Ready feat. Big Youth & George Dekker
03. Deep Sleep feat. Shniece McMenamin
04. Cassandra feat. Earl 16
05. Everything Crash feat. Big Youth & George Dekker
06. The Break feat. Winston Francis
07. Steppin’ Out Of Babylon feat. Big Youth & Marcia Griffiths
08. Queen Of Minstrel feat. Cornell Campbell
09. Tonight feat. Big Youth & Earl 16
10. Trouble feat. Shniece McMenamin & Horseman