King Jammy ADD

King Jammy Destroys The Virus with Dub

03/14/2022 by Press Release

King Jammy Destroys The Virus with Dub

King Jammy Revisits his Legendary 1980s and 90s catalog with Fresh Dub Mixes. 

King Jammy Destroys The Virus With Dub finds Jamaican producer, mixing engineer and Reggae icon King Jammy emerging from his famed Waterhouse studio in Kingston, Jamaica with 12 new dub mixes from his original master recordings. 
On King Jammy Destroys The Virus With Dub, Jammy went back to his multi-track master recordings from the 70s-90s and remixed new dub versions of classic recordings, a follow-up to Waterhouse Dub, released by VP Records in 2017. 
King Jammy’s influence on the development of dub music and reggae production in his five-decade career is incalculable. His impact was highlighted most recently in SL2’s “Way In My Brain,” the soundtrack used for Facebook’s 2021 rebranding as Meta. King Jammy Destroys The Virus With Dub is a reminder of the producer’s enduring catalog and skill at the mixing board.  
To this day, I love mixing and I love mixing dubs. Getting back to the master tapes is like going back in time and really brings back memories of all these great singers musicians who I’ve worked with. When you mix, you can highlight different aspects of the recording – whether it’s the singers or any of the individual instruments.  A dub mix brings them through space and time and colors each part with echo, reverb, and phasing. Each time I do a new mix, I get a different view of the song, but it’s all done live, spontaneous. This project was a pleasure to work on, and I brought together riddims from the early years, like Black Uhuru, Sugar Minott, and Barry Brown, and then moving in the late 80s and 90s with Junior Delgado, Gregory Isaacs, and Frankie Paul. I hope my fans will enjoy this trip down memory lane as much as I did while I was making the album.” 

The featured track, Closed Border Dub, is brought to life by Costantinos Pissourios’ animation of Tony McDermott’s original cover art. Closed Border Dub is a new mix of Black Uhuru’s Time To Unite, originally found on the 1977 Love Crisis album as Tonight Is The Night To UniteLove Crisis was the first full-length LP release from both Black Uhuru and Prince Jammy. Alternate mixes over the years include the 1981 update Tonight Is The Night (with a new drum track) and the best known mix (with horns), Time To Unite from Greensleeves 1981 release Black Sounds Of Freedom. (Love Crisis is the original mix of Black Sounds Of Freedom, which was released on the Jammy label in 1977.) Alborosie voiced a new version called Peace Treaty Style on the 2017 album New Sounds Of Freedom

Having refined his mixing acumen at King Tubby’s studio in the mid / late 70s, Jammy developed his own aesthetic as reggae turned the corner into the 1980s, enhanced by access to the most relevant new artists from his neighborhood of Waterhouse. He was first recognized for his work with Black Uhuru, then with an array of singers including Horace Andy, Johnny Osbourne, Barry Brown, Junior Reid, and most famously Wayne Smith, whose Under Mi Sleng Teng is considered transitional marker in a globally influential continuum of music. 
By the 1990s, King Jammy’s productions and his soundsystem were synonymous with reggae and dancehall itself. He has also overseen one of the most successful clashing soundsystems in the world for three decades. 

Most recently, King Jammy created a dub mix for the single “Po Po” from Spice’s Grammy nominated album 10, released by VP Records. King Jammy was featured on the recent Reggae On The Pier broadcast from Jamaica, playing an opening set live from the Pegasus Hotel in Kingston, Jamaica. 

King Jammy Destroys The Virus with Dub (CD, Vinyl & Digital) will be out March 18, 2022!

01. Lockdown Dub
02. Quarrantined In Dub
03. Track & Trace Dub
04. Dub Fi Social Distance
05. Closed Border Dub
06. A New Normal In Dub
07. Dub On The Frontline
08. Dubbing From Home
09. Dub Injection
10. Dub Tribute To All Hospital Workers
11. Eradication Dub
12. Messenjah Version